Scholarships Help Students in Malaysia Experience Additional Opportunities

Students who wish to receive remuneration for college can do so through scholarships provided by such institutions as SEGi University and Colleges, often referred to simply as SEGi. This particular institution is one of the biggest higher education facilities in Malaysia as it features five campuses in the country. Partner universities are located throughout the world in such countries as Australia, the U.S., and the UK.

Qualifications for the HAS Scholarship

In order to obtain a SEGi high achiever’s scholarship (or HAS), a Malaysian resident must be under 25 years of age. Applicants must show that they have done well academically and excelled in extracurricular activities. It also helps to have the recommendation of a headmaster or school principal.

If you are seeking to study in a health sciences programme, however, you will not be able to apply for a HAS scholarship. If you do receive the scholarship, also be aware that you are required to meet a minimum 3.70 CGPA each semester in order to stay in school.

SPM: The Malaysian Certificate of Education

Recipients of the HAS award can apply for scholarship after SPM. SPM is an acronym that stands for Sijil Perlajaran Malaysia, which is synonymous with the Malaysian Certificate of Education. This exam is a national assessment that is administered to all fifth-year Malaysian secondary students. By taking the test and doing well, Malaysian students can continue studying at the pre-university level. Minimum prerequisites to receive the certificate include passing history and Malay.

SPM Compulsory Subjects

Usually, the SPM is administered and taken when a student is 17 or 18 years old. Students who are homeschooled in Malaysia take the SPM when they complete their secondary education as well. Some of the SPM subjects that Malaysian students must take include the following:

  • Bahasa Melayu or the Malay language
  • Sejarah or History
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Pendidikan Islam or Islamic Studies
  • Bahasa Inggeris or the English language

How the Grading Is Established

The exam for the SPM typically is held in the months of November and December, and, again, covers the above-listed prerequisite subjects. Testing is given on specific dates of each month. The higher grades given for the SPM include A+ (super distinction), A (high distinction), A- (distinction), B+ (excellent credit), B (high credit). Lower marks include C+, C, D, E, and G. If your grade is a G, it means that you failed the exam.

In order to obtain an HAS scholarship in Singapore, you must receive 10 or more As to receive a full scholarship. If you receive 9 As, you will automatically receive a 75% rebate on your tuition charges. Eight As enable students to receive 50% rebates on the tuition cost.

Besides the HAS scholarships, students can also receive external scholarships and SEGi scholarships that recognise athletic performance. For instance, the SEGi sports scholarship is offered to a Malaysian athlete who participates well at either a state or national tier. A state athlete can receive a 25% rebate and a national athlete can obtain a 50% rebate to defray the costs associated with his or her tuition.

1 Comment

  1. At this moment I am going away to do my breakfast, after having my breakfast coming over again to read further news.

Comments are closed.